Just stumbled upon this fantastic and talented artist’s blog called The Illustrated Garden. Check it out and you will become inspired also. Her name is Val Webb. She offers workshops and classes.

valwebb.com

I love coneflowers… and my very favorite is Echinacea purpurea. I grow it in my garden, draw it, paint it and carve it into clay tiles. This one was painted in gouache, allowed to dry thoroughly, then brushed with a coat of waterproof India ink and scrubbed under running water. The final step was to add a bit of ink detail on the leaves and petals with an 01 Pigma Micron drawing pen. I like the final effect; it reminds me of vintage illustration. As soon as my busy studio schedule slows a tiny bit, I will post a step-by-step tutorial, so you can try it out for yourself.

View original post

Leave a Reply

